Poeme Electronique

philips1

 

Last night Joja Dhara TPed me to the Poeme Electronique Celebration at Philips Island.  First a historic presentation to provide some backgrounds, secondly the opening of the virtual replica of the Le Corbusier’s Philips Pavilion at the 1958 Brussels World Fair and finally a round table discussion on how the Poème Électronique can inspire us to co-create the future.

Unfortunately I missed the last part of the program and I dear hope Joja and the remaining visitors had a more inspiring encounter than I did. Due to technical probs of all kind I dropped into a confusing chopped-up performance with a photo stream that shifted to the next picture on the precise moment of  rezzing. So I couldn’t pick up the talk of Kees Tazelaar in the roaring noise, saw one or two photographs amongst numerous blurred screens and went into a completely mute model of the Le Corbusier’s pavilion.

Maybe I should have turned on my media earlier, because when I did I truly saw a short fragment of the original animations and film sequences on the wall above the audience. Strangely enough I did not hear a single tone or stroke or whatsoever to get a hint of the original music by Edgard Varèse. The pavilion was planned as a “total environment” meant to result in a complex multimedia experience, for me this was a frustrating kick off and I dit not want to spoil the discussion with my negativity… afterall this Philips inititiative is ambitious and deary and should be a model of how industry could link up people in a new way, grouped around inspiring concepts instead off lausy fast food, what a bloody shame!

Here is an instructive short introduction to the Philips Pavilion at the 1958 Brussels World Fair and the virtual reconstruction at the VEP project.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

